Classified Ads Photo Gallery Message Boards Sugarbush Directory Sugarmaker Journals Live Chat News & Events
Old February 3rd, 2014, 07:29 PM
Producer

Number of Taps: 250
Thanked 7 Times

Default Another Homemade RO

Hey guys, so I have been debating about building an ro for the 2015 season. I have been reading through some of the old threads and it seems like there is alot of really nice looking units people have built. I would like to make a single membrane unit. I would like to run about 125 gph, I am thinking an XLE 4040 4040 membrane, I am debating about the size of the pump. I am thinking a 240 gph pump I thought I would adjust the pressure to run about 1-1.5 gpm of permiate flow and 2.5-3 gpm concentrate to help keep the membrane from fouling. Does this sound correct or should I use a smaller pump? Thanks for any guidance you can give me.

250 Taps trying for 300
Leader 2x6 Patriot Pans
Homemade Hood and preheater
Custom 2x6 Wildfire Arch
Orion Dry Vane Vacuum Pump for High Vac
Giles Bernard Single Releaser
Delaval 75 Vacuum Pump for Backup
Old February 5th, 2014, 12:45 PM
Producer

Number of Taps: 1500
Thanked 10 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by nymapleguy607 View Post
Hey guys, so I have been debating about building an ro for the 2015 season. I have been reading through some of the old threads and it seems like there is alot of really nice looking units people have built. I would like to make a single membrane unit. I would like to run about 125 gph, I am thinking an XLE 4040 4040 membrane, I am debating about the size of the pump. I am thinking a 240 gph pump I thought I would adjust the pressure to run about 1-1.5 gpm of permiate flow and 2.5-3 gpm concentrate to help keep the membrane from fouling. Does this sound correct or should I use a smaller pump? Thanks for any guidance you can give me.
Sounds like you're looking for about 4 gallons per minute of flow. Your 240 gph pump should handle that fine.