Classified Ads Photo Gallery Message Boards Sugarbush Directory Sugarmaker Journals Live Chat News & Events
Old June 25th, 2014, 05:47 PM
Producer

Thanked 0 Times

Default Newbie Questions

Hi All.

I've been tapping a couple of trees in the backyard for a few years and quite enjoying it. However we are considering purchasing a property with 5 acres of mature bush on it, mostly maple trees. If we purchase the property, I'd like to ramp this to somewhere between crazed hobby status and tiny side enterprise. But....I have some beginner questions.

1) Regulations: What regulations do I need to be aware of? I think there might be three areas - one is food/cooking type regulations. The second is maple syrup grading and quality. And the third one would be syrup industry specific, i.e. if there's any sort of maple cartel in Ontario that I need to join for 'protection'. :)
2) Estimate of trees: The acreage is mature trees. Like really mature - I don't recall dupageforest.com/uploadedImages/Content/Conservation/Forest_Preserves/Maple_Grove/MapleGrove_2%281%29.jpg. Trees are all huge, and go all the way up. And they're all huge trees, not much undergrowth. Can anyone tell me how I might estimate the number of trees/acre in a bush like that? I would assume most of the trees would handle 3 taps based on what I'm reading. I'm trying to estimate how much syrup I might produce, because that will impact my marketing plans. It'll also dictate how stupid I get with tapping in the first year.
3) Vacuum or bucket? My intention is to balance starting small with an eye to growing into some small enterprise with a focus on marketing. I read that vacuum will double production. Should I start with a small vacuum operation? or start with a small bucket operation and move to vacuum later (I'm wondering if there's any drawback to switching collection methods).