Classified Ads Photo Gallery Message Boards Sugarbush Directory Sugarmaker Journals Live Chat News & Events
Old April 7th, 2014, 01:38 PM
Producer

Number of Taps: 25
Thanked 0 Times

Default Construction Advice on Homemade Evaporator

Well I started boiling last week and I am always reminded that I need to invest time and money in to a evaporator system.

I am looking for help on building a new firebox and arch for my small hobby operation. I currently have a basic set up I built a few years ago 2ft wide x 4 ft long x 2ft tall out of 1/4 inch plate steel no fire bricks, no arch just basically a large fire box on legs and one homemade stainless pan 2ftx4ftx 6inches deep. It works, but i know it could be much better.

I only have about 25 taps but would like to get to about 50-75 eventually.

I am a good welder so that is not my challenge, my challenge is constructing and specifications. How large the firebox should be, what the angle of the arch should be and the size of the combustions chamber. Is ther a magic size for the fire box, arch, and venting/ chimney size? Any specs or help would be greatly apprieciated. Also if you have a better idea for my pan etc I am open and welcome comments.

Thanks for your help and this Forum is a great resource.
Old April 7th, 2014, 01:45 PM
Producer

Number of Taps: 100
Thanked 0 Times

Despite having just built an arch myself... i can offer no help, just encouragement. lol

I wasn't able to find a set of proven dimensions that unquestionably provided the most efficient evaporation.

All i can say after searching for months and months and months for more detailed information - to no avail - is just do it.

Nothing you build, that is larger than your existing evaporator is going to struggle with the sap yield from 75 taps.
- A hand-me-down poorly built oiltank boiler

- 50 taps & buckets
- 25 5/16 taps & gravity lines
- 18" x 30" pan
- A rapidly deteriorating, poorly built, hand-me-down oiltank boiler

- 100 taps & buckets