Classified Ads Photo Gallery Message Boards Sugarbush Directory Sugarmaker Journals Live Chat News & Events
Old January 10th, 2014, 10:37 AM
Producer

Number of Taps: 205
Thanked 2 Times

Default Homemade pan?

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting anything on this site so here it goes. I will be starting the build of an oil drum arch and was going to build my own 2x5x10" pan. I was looking into 18 gauge ss. Is that to thick or just right? Also if I decide to put in some dividers should I go length wise? I will try to upload some pics when I start the build because I enjoy looking and learning from all your pics. Thanks!!!
Old January 10th, 2014, 11:40 AM
Banned
Producer

Journals: 1
Photos: 6
Thanked 843 Times
  View my photos   Read my journals

Welcome Fire Guy. Ask away on anything that comes to mind. I would ask what are your skills at welding. Thinner is better but if you don't have the skills then go thicker. I have two welders but NO ability to weld thin SS to the standards that others have. I say do what you can get done before the season starts. Sitting out a season because we say you should do this or that is folly. You will learn more from your first season on a set of homemade pans you designed and built than all the posts from now and your first tap. This wont be your last set of pans unless you absolutely hate making maple syrup...............Yea right like that will happen. Take some time on Youtube looking at what others have done. Make what you can afford and complete and get it done.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Haynes Forest Products For This Helpful Post:
Fire guy (January 10th, 2014), Jim Schumacher (January 21st, 2014)
Old January 10th, 2014, 06:53 PM
Producer

Number of Taps: 100
Photos: 8
Thanked 59 Times
  View my photos  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire guy View Post