Classified Ads Photo Gallery Message Boards Sugarbush Directory Sugarmaker Journals Live Chat News & Events
Old April 11th, 2018, 08:49 AM
Producer

Thanked 0 Times

Default Variable hydrotherm readings

This is my first year using a hydrotherm in addition to a thermometer for processing final product. The type of hydrotherm I have will determine Brix at any temperature between 2C and 99C.
In my current batch, I measured the density hot from the boil and it was showing about 66 Brix non stop until I dumped it back in 5 minutes later, so I stopped heating and covered the pan while I drained it off. (wanted to go a bit more but nervous about going too far...) Now that the batch has cool to ambient temperature (22C) I re-verified the density with the same hydrotherm and its showing 67.2. (each increment on the hydrotherm scale is 0.2Brix)

Do you folks ever see variances like this with your measuring tools? Is this just the "personality" of the tool which I can simply compensate for?

Here is the model I have (pictured just like what is on the right of the page / without the correction scale)

http://www.cdlusa.com/wp-content/upl...hydrotherm.pdf

Thanks!
Old April 11th, 2018, 09:43 AM
Contributing Member
Producer

Number of Taps: 850
Thanked 168 Times

That change is most likely just because when you shut the heat off you still get more evaporation. You just need to learn from experience how much that will be. It will vary by the amount of syrup too, so it's not always going to be the same. Humidity levels will also affect it.
www.cnymaple.com
Old April 11th, 2018, 11:15 AM
Producer

Thanked 0 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maple Flats View Post
That change is most likely just because when you shut the heat off you still get more evaporation. You just need to learn from experience how much that will be. It will vary by the amount of syrup too, so it's not always going to be the same. Humidity levels will also affect it.